Watercolour Butterfly Birthday Card

Today I decided to play with my new My Favourite Things Beautiful Butterflies stamp and die set to create a birthday card for my Mother in-law who is about to celebrate her 95th birthday-whew what an age (she has always loved gardening, so I know that the butterfly should be a hit). Inspired by Yoonsun Hur’s beautiful card I wanted to create a soft watercolour effect with the butterfly.

I die cut the image then painted  several soft layers of white and pink using Tim Holtz ink pads, then stamped the vein detail image with TH seedless preserves, and very gently blended this layer off with water, taking care not to lose too much detail. Once dry, I splattered it with gold metallic paint, then a coating with Wink of Stella clear.

butterfly2

 

Supplies used:
Stamps: My Favourite Things Beautiful Butterflies, Flourishes Tag Lines
Dies: MFT Beautiful Butterflies, MFT Stitched Tag, MFT Stitched strip
Inks: Tim Holtz Spun Sugar and Seedless Preserves, Memento Black
Other: Watercolour paper, gold and white paint, sequins, metallic gold and plum washi tapes, patterned background paper, Wink of Stella clear

Thanks so much for stopping by, and I am entering this in The Happy Little Stampers April, Anything goes, Watercolor Challenge.

2 thoughts on “Watercolour Butterfly Birthday Card”

Leave a Reply

